Thing 11: Coding

I am hosting a Coding workshop after school for 6 weeks in February and March.  This “Thing” is a good way to get the ball rolling with coding.  I’ve dappled in it just a little bit myself, but I’ve never taught coding to my students.  We don’t have handheld devices for students so I decided to use code.org to introduce my students.  I know my elementary aged kids are fans of Minecraft and code.org has a video by the creator of Minecraft to introduce coding.

I’ve typed up an outline of how we might spend our time during the coding workshop.  This really forced me to try out all of the areas we could cover during the workshop.  Code.org does a really great job breaking down the coding into small comprehensible chunks for kids to understand.  Vocabulary words are emphasized and for each lesson there are short videos with someone explaining the concepts of coding in real-life examples like beekeeping or glassmaking.  I was impressed with the celebrity-status of some of the people in the coding videos.  Code.org hosted very creative individuals responsible for high profile movies and games young people enjoy today like Star Wars and Frozen.

Here is a link to my outline: Coding Workshop Outline

I am glad to be hosting a Coding Workshop after school.  While browsing Code.org, I thought this skill is applicable to math and ELA as well, especially when working on skills like algorithms and angles.  Next year during the week of the Hour of Code, I will certainly teach my students some coding skills and after this workshop, I hope I become more comfortable with the process that I can see more easily how to overlap coding with math, ELA, or even Science and Social Studies.

One thought on “Thing 11: Coding

Leave a Reply

